Tuesday, January 13, 2015

Tell Me Tuesdays #24!!


Tell Me Tuesdays is a meme/feature created by the awesome ladies of Please Feed The Bookworm and La La In The Library, where we can share how we choose the book we are currently reading from our TBR pile!

I'm always curious about that, cause as much as I tend to make myself a rough schedule for books to read and the like, I'm quite a mood reader and sometimes I just HAVE to ignore my schedule and read something else!



 All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.
Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Includes a PDF Help Line Resource Guide and a Note Read by the Author.




 The Future Collection by Beth Revis

This collection of sci fi stories from NY Times Bestselling author Beth Revis features worlds and technology from the future. Featuring three brand new, original tales and three reprints, each story explores a different set of characters in a different world and facing different problems in the future world.

"Doctor-Patient Confidentiality": A girl wakes up in a cryomed unit and must recall why she's there and what's she's lost.

"The Most Precious Memory": In a world where memories are sold and consumed like drugs, one deal has a weird twist.

"The Girl & the Machine": A time traveller meets someone who claims she's met his future self and that they'll change the world together.

"Lag": A reporter has found the story of a lifetime--but a malfunctioning teleportation has made her forget it...

"The Turing Test": A college student must determine which test subject is human and which is an android with A.I.

"As They Slip Away": A novella set in the world of Across the Universe, exploring the fate of a side character.




 The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

To fight her destiny as the missing heir to a powerful and dangerous secret society, sixteen-year-old Avery West must solve an ancient puzzle in a deadly race across Europe. Forbidden love and code-breaking, masked balls and explosions, destiny and dark secrets collide in this romantic thriller, in the vein of a YA DaVinci Code.

Avery West's newfound family can shut down Prada at the Champs-Elysees when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war.

They are part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle of Twelve, and Avery is their missing heir. If they discover who she is, some of them will want to use her as a pawn. Some will want her dead.

To thwart their plans, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the landmarks of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul and through a web of ancient legends and lies. And unless she can stay one step ahead of beautiful, volatile Stellan, who knows she’s more than she seems, and can decide whether to trust mysterious, magnetic Jack, she may be doomed after all.



I'm still reading Thornhill but since my preorder of Willowgrove hasn't arrived yet, I've decided to set it aside until I have the final book too, just in case there's a cliffhanger at the end of this one!

I've been trying to do my best to get through all the January/Feb eARCs that I got approved for via Netgalley, but I decided that some short stories are always great to read when I need a break from something else, and science fiction is like comfort food for me, and I just HAD to start The Conspiracy of Us as soon as it downloaded at midnight because secret societies, guys with a British accent, ancient puzzles, treasure hunting!!! 

So what are you all guys reading and how and why did you decide to pick up that book? Shiny new ARC? Comfort read? Scheduled for review? Must have new release? Tell me!!

22 comments:

  1. I am curious about All the Bright Places because some reviewers are saying it was over hyped. You got Beth's book! Yay! I am on a book buying ban until I get my paycheck from new employer. I stopped at my old job Christmas Eve and don't start the new one until next Monday and then I only get paid every two weeks! I will be buying her book then. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Book buying bans suck, don't they? Science fiction is my candy, so I had to get Beth's book!
      I'll let you know about All the Bright Places, so far I'm only a few pages in, got distracted by Conspiracy last night!

      Delete
  2. I´m currently reading When by Victoria Laurie.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have heard mixed reviews about this one, I hope you're liking it!

      Delete
  3. I don't think All the Bright Places is my kind of book Pili, I typically give books that deal with death or illness a wide berth, but I'm looking forward to seeing what you think of it. You might change my mind:) Super excited for the Conspiracy of Us, I really hope it's good!!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't usually like to read them too much, but I feel like this one I must read because I think it's more about mental illness than death.
      The Conspiracy of Us was great, Jenny!

      Delete
  4. I am about to start reading The Conspiracy Of Us! It looks good....

    Kate @ Ex Libris

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was addicting and gripping! Hope you'll like it!

      Delete
  5. Oh my! I can't wait to read these three books! I love how they sound!
    I hope you enjoy it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you get to read them all! Thanks Lis!

      Delete
  6. I'm dying to get Conspiracy! And I'm also dying to read your review of it! I'll be keeping my eyes peeled for it :)
    I picked up All the Bright Things in Waterstones at the weekend and I ALMOST bought it. Another review I'll be keeping my eyes peeled for.
    Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Conspiracy was quite fantastic! I hope to have the review up soon, probably next week!
      As far as All The Bright Things, I think the review will be up on Saturday!
      Thank you Samantha!

      Delete
  7. I'm terrified to read the first one (though once, I was excited to read it), and same with the third (I've heard some grrrrr things about it), but I still want to give them a chance. I'll be looking out for your thoughts on these!

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have started All the Bright Things but haven't read too much yet, but Conspiracy was a lot of fun! Reads super fast and the descriptions are brilliant and the mystery was also intriguing enough, a few usual tropes, but they didn't bothered me much!

      Delete
  8. Well, I already know how you felt about The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall. What I need to know now is how you fell about All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven... I hear wonderful things about it. I can't wait to read your reviews on both these books. Hope you have a great day Pili xoxo

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope to dedicate some of my reading time tonight to All the Bright Places finally. I hope to have both reviews up soon!
      Thank you Helena!

      Delete
  9. Aw, yay :D Sounds like three awesome books. <3 I hope you will love them all sweetie :) Excited to hear your thoughts on all of them. <3 I have the Beth Revis short story; one of them :) will be buying the collection soonish. <3 hoping they are awesome :) Happy reading Pili. <3

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really liked Conspiracy, and I'm also liking the other two!
      Thank you sweetie!

      Delete
  10. Ohhh i cant wait for my copy of All The Bright Places to get here. Also i am seriously eyeing the hell out The Conspiracy of Us. You think I would like it?
    <3 Britt

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh Britt, I think you'd really like the Conspiracy of Us!! =D

      Delete
  11. Replies
    1. Much more than I usually do, yep, which is good! Expanding my reading horizons!

      Delete

¡Muchas gracias por vuestros comentarios, leerlos me alegra el día!/ Thanks a lot for all your comments, reading them brightens my day!!